newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Flashing Wash and Dry Lights on Bosch Dishwasher

I was using a Bosch table-top SKS51E18EU_IX model dishwasher.

When I turned it on I was confronted with the “wash” and “dry” lights (LEDs) flashing alternately.

First the wash light:

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX wash light

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX wash light

Then the dry light:

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX dry light

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX dry light

And then the wash light again and so on.

The cure? I had simply not selected a program using the dial (because I’d been twisting the knob to set the salt level earlier). Turn the dial until a washing program is selected!

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX dial needs to be turned to select a valid program

Bosch SKS51E18EU_IX dial needs to be turned to select a valid program

16 responses to “Flashing Wash and Dry Lights on Bosch Dishwasher

  1. Sue June 29, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    Thankyou just had exactly the same problem.

  2. Michael January 23, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    Thanks you have saved my day.

  3. mumsthewordintheuk May 8, 2016 at 9:33 am

    So simple when you know! Thank you so much from this little nugget of infomation. I was just about to go into melt down but decided to Google it first before panicking. Normality is resumed. Big, big thanks again.

  4. Glen McBride May 12, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    You my friend are a legend. The people at Bosch didn’t know this and insisted I book a service call!

  5. Keith Wardle July 2, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    Thank you! Such a gem of information. Had exactly the same problem and thought I would need to buy a new dishwasher, but this fixed the problem. Great!

  6. jannerjo September 6, 2016 at 6:38 am

    Thank you! Sorted!

  7. Donna McIntyre November 4, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    So simple! Can’t believe I didn’t notice. Thank you for sharing

  8. linuxgirlie November 22, 2016 at 3:35 pm

    Thank you so much, I have a different Bosch dishwasher and for some reason the dial is allowed to move further than the settings either side. It had been knocked and wasn’t exactly on the setting I needed, moved the dial and it fixed the problem!

  9. Sara Head March 7, 2017 at 7:19 am

    Thank you I didn’t notice the dial was not on a programme. Solved.

  10. Josef Schmo May 16, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    Bless your cotton socks! Your tip has stopped me being angry at myself for breaking a dishwasher. Unfortunately now I feel like a fool as it is all so obvious once you know the answer!
    Cheers!

  11. Jill May 28, 2017 at 6:45 pm

    What is the meaning of a flashing second light from bottom on right, the one that looks like 2 intertwined arrows.

  12. Joanne Hardy June 19, 2017 at 8:24 am

    Phew, almost had to call my brother in – thank you for the information :-D

  13. chiswickmum July 11, 2017 at 7:19 pm

    Thank you so much – been trying to find the answer to this on the internet for ages… can’t believe it was something so simple! Was just about to google ‘new dishwasher in sale’! Thanks for sharing – you’re an absolute star!

  14. Alex July 27, 2017 at 2:38 pm

    Thank you, I was a rabbit in headlights for a moment.

  15. Saeed August 9, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    My kid has changed the program. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

