newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

The Automobile Association Spamming Personal Mobile Phones with SMSs

After not being a customer of The AA (The Automobile Association) in the UK for over 3 years I received a marketing SMS (text) direct to my personal mobile phone today. The text read:

Bad driving weather forecast, make sure you’re covered! AA Breakdown Cover from £39 and £20 Boots voucher.Call 08002944673. To end SMS mkting, text STOP to 88779

From TheAA, sent 15:36, 14 December 2011.

This makes me very angry. No company should be sending advertising to personal mobile phones. Especially after no contact for years!

I stopped being a customer of The AA when they stopped accepting normal methods of pay. They only accept direct debit – putting them (not you, the customer) in control of your own bank account! I don’t hand over control of my bank account to anybody.

Several years ago Carphone Warehouse started bombarding me with marketing SMS messages (even though I’d never been a customer!) and I’ve never stepped foot in a Carphone Warehouse store since. I will never be a customer of The AA ever again.

I strongly recommend you boycott The AA because of their dirty and disrespectful campaigns! When a company stops being about service and becomes all about manipulation and profit – you know it is time to quit!

1 responses to “The Automobile Association Spamming Personal Mobile Phones with SMSs

  1. Charles 2012-07-25 at 18:16:31

    Sounds like you got ripped off – the message I got said £35! :)

Leave a comment