newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Monitor No Signal on Xubuntu 16.04.1

My Dell server seemed to stop outputting to the monitor on the VGA cable. No signal, the monitor said. It was blank, it was black, it was powered off. I tried unplugging the cable and plugging it back in, no joy.

I tried pressing ctrl-alt-1 to switch to the text console, and the screen came alive, but all I could see was a flashing underline of a cursor in the upper left-hand corner, no login prompt. Same thing for ctrl-alt-2. Tried ctrl-alt-7 to get back to graphics mode and the monitor turned off again.

The following repaired the issue for me without having to reboot, but it did kill my GUI session and all open windows:

sudo /etc/init.d/lightdm restart

My monitor came back alive and I found myself at the GUI XFCE login prompt.

Leave a Reply

