Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Converting XPS to PDF using MuPDF on Ubuntu Linux

I had a recently generated “.xps” file sent to me and needed it in PDF form for convenient viewing. The following took place on Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 14.04 LTS.

The “xpstopdf” tool failed me with a poorly converted document (just a single rectangle, no text).

Then I installed “mupdf”:

~$ sudo apt-get install mupdf
~$ mupdf mydocument.xps

This it rendered to my satisfaction to the screen. Next I wanted a PDF file!

But when I tried using “mudraw“, the associated tool installed with the “mupdf-tools” Ubuntu package, I got the following error:

~$ sudo apt-get install mupdf-tools
~$ mudraw -o /tmp/mydocument.pdf /tmp/mydocument.xps
error: empty page tree, cannot insert page
error: cannot draw '/tmp/mydocument.xps'

In the end I decided to try compiling the latest version available from MuPDF‘s download page (I downloaded “mupdf-1.9a-source.tar.gz” published 2016-04-21).

~$ wget ''
~$ tar -xvzf mupdf-1.9a-source.tar.gz
~$ cd mupdf-1.9a-source
~$ sudo apt-get install mesa-common-dev libxcursor-dev libxshmfence-dev libxext-dev libxrandr-dev libxinerama-dev
~$ nice make -j 3
~$ ./build/release/mutool draw -o /tmp/mydocument.pdf /tmp/mydocument.xps

This time my PDF was rendered without any errors!

Leave a Reply

