Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Xubuntu and System Freeze/Hang After Entering Password On Wake From Suspend

On an Asus S400C running Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr I was having a problem after waking from suspend. The computer would wake up, I would tap a key to bring up the display from blank, and it would offer me to type in my session password.

If I typed a session password wrong it would tell me, but if I typed the session password right the system would freeze (the fan would turn on indicating maybe heavy CPU use) and no key combination would do anything (including ctrl-alt-F2 to switch to another terminal).

Well, I don’t know why this was happening, but it seems to have been down to the light-locker package. So I removed it.

$ sudo apt-get remove light-locker light-locker-settings
$ sudo apt-get install gnome-screensaver

The computer now allows me to log in after suspend but I have to type in the session password twice.

Leave a Reply

