Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

CyanogenMod 12.1 Google Play Services has stopped

On a Samsung Galaxy Tab SM-T320 I was getting the following message after upgrading CyanogenMod to the latest stable 12.1 build:

Unfortunately, Google Play services has stopped.

This message would occur constantly, maybe every 3 seconds or so.

On pressing the “Report” button I would see a preview of a Crash Report that stated:

Submission subject
[CRASH] threw android.database.sqlite.SQLiteException

Submission content
android.database.sqlite.SQLiteException: Can’t downgrade database from version 65 to 64

So I used adb to shell into the device from my laptop and became the root user (using the su command).

Essentially I just had to delete any databases that were being used by Google Play Services. This was a lot. To find out which I would run the command:

logcat |grep -B 3 -A 20 downgrade |less

and look for lines that stated:

E/DatabaseUtils( 1180): 	at

and so forth and then run

rm /data/data/*


rm /data/data/*

I think these were the main two database directories I had to erase. You will probably want to back up any SMSs you have (although this doesn’t apply in the case of a tablet with just wifi).

I also had a similar crash with the clock and had to erase its databases, too.

Then reboot. Should be no more errors.

Leave a Reply

