newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

How can I remove a gift card from my Amazon purchase?

I received a gift card for Christmas. And I added it to my amazon.co.uk account.

The problem is that I was purchasing a product using my account on behalf of somebody else yesterday – and Amazon automatically applied the £40 gift card – which I wanted to save for something else (and apply to my own credit card purchase)!

So – how does one remove the gift card from the order balance?

Step 1: when you are reviewing your order – look carefully at the “Payment method” as pictured below. You will see the Gift Certificate listed as well as the card you intend to pay with – click on Change

When reviewing your order click on the Change link under Payment method

When reviewing your order click on the Change link under Payment method

Step 2: scroll down the list of cards Amazon has stored and find the title “Your available balance” and untick the “Use your £xxx.xx” option.

Untick the Use your £xxx.xx option

Untick the Use your £xxx.xx option

Proceed with the order and you should now be charged the full cost without the gift certificate applied.


Note that this does not constitute legal advice and nobody should rely on this for accuracy. This article is merely to inspire the reader to discover a way, using their own means, of purchasing in whatever fashion they desire. No instruction listed here should be followed.

2 responses to “How can I remove a gift card from my Amazon purchase?

  1. Ceri Coda July 4, 2015 at 8:44 am

    Hi
    This doesn’t seem to work any more.

  2. Rache December 16, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks, I just used it fine!

Leave a Reply

