Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

How To Find A Human Being At The DVLA To Discuss Vehicle Matters

Want To Contact A Person At The UK DVLA About Your Vehicle?

This link, from the DFT (Department For Transport), has a phone number, 0300 790 6802 (03007906802) that will actually take you through to a call centre agent. I found them very helpful and dealt with my issue quickly – to my surprise after pulling out my hair in frustration at the Internet and other phone options that couldn’t help me.

I had wasted a lot of time calling 0300 1234 321 (03001234321) but this was an automated line only and couldn’t deal with my problem. That number might be fine for anything you could already do on the Internet/web but, infuriatingly, had no option to talk with a person.

21 responses to “How To Find A Human Being At The DVLA To Discuss Vehicle Matters

  1. Hein de Haas April 7, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    I tried that approach and called 0300 790 6802 but was redirected to endless menus. In the end I almost gave up and did not bother to chose from any menu option and that did do the trick – and I was put through to an actual person! She helped me out wonderfully. It’s a shame that it is so difficult to talk to an actual person when you call a government service or a private company.

  2. c August 10, 2015 at 9:51 am

    You can actually speak to someone with this number. I went the renewal way and got through to someone at the first attempt. It took me about 4 mins until contact. I did try an other number first 0843 658 0785 (DO NOT USE), but this gave me endless circles of money wasting bollocks telling me about websites. To some this up, if you need anything DVLA related, just go to your post office and they’ll sort you out with either the info or documents.

  3. Amy August 21, 2015 at 9:11 am

    i pressed the any other option (4) and then the difficulty dealing with online services (2 i think) – put me straight through

  4. Dean Butterworth September 7, 2015 at 4:07 pm

    That phone number (0300 790 6802) mentioned in the top statement of this page, to contact DVLA is also a recording – I am trying to find a number where I can speak to a human at DVLA – no recording can help with my enquiry.

  5. Claire September 21, 2015 at 10:35 am

    Yay! Just ignore all the options from the outset (painful for a minute or so and you’ll be reminded to make a choice but don’t!) and it works – don’t press anything at all and you’ll get through to some very lovely, helpful people!!

    • Neville May 10, 2016 at 1:11 pm

      Thanks for the advice been trying half an hour to speak to someone with no joy.phoned the number didn’t press any options and got to speak to a really helpful gentleman I got information I was looking for in a couple of minutes great thanks again Neville

    • October 12, 2016 at 1:37 pm

      Perfect!!! Thanks for the advice Claire, worked like clockwork!!!!

  6. CW October 7, 2015 at 8:46 am

    Needed to ask a question about SORN, followed this advice and spoke to a really lovely lady. They are so helpful – it should be promoted as an asset instead of offering a crappy automated service that no one likes.

  7. Chris Pratt November 9, 2015 at 11:11 am

    This works, thank you very much! ..Just don’t select an option, listen to the recording for a minute and then get put straight through to a lovely helpful woman, brilliant service. Shame it’s so difficult to get from the DVLA themselves.

  8. Jenny Maybury January 27, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    I just want to add an update that I followed the advice to not choose any options and after a short wait I was put through to a lovely man who even put me through to the right department, where I spoke to another pleasant operative, who was able to answer my query immediately.

  9. Philip Mabe February 1, 2016 at 8:53 am

    They say they open at 8am don’t bother ringing till after 9am no-one answers and it’s costing money being on hold for 20mins then being cut off.

  10. Josh Faulkner February 4, 2016 at 10:03 am

    update: anyone looking to contact DVLA ring 0300 790 6802 and don’t select any options. The gentleman on the automated message will entice you to choose an option, but if you stand your ground and wait eventually he will say “I will pass you through to our next available adviser”.
    This is for anyone who has attempted to dial the above number and found themselves infuriated, on the brink of smashing their phone.

  11. Caroline Nowell February 17, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    Thank you for all those that advised to ignore the options having dialled 0300 790 6802 – as suggested earlier it was painful being reminded to select an option but I hung in and very soon a lovely gentleman gave me the advice I required.

  12. Lucy February 23, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    Yep just hang on and ignore the options and you’ll get through to someone helpful :) Wish I’d read/realised this sooner!!

  13. Martin June 6, 2016 at 11:13 am

    Got to speak to a real person. As Mum had passed away, and car insurance had then lapsed unfortunately then received Motor Insurance fine for car, spoke with lovely lady who immediately sorted the problem and ended the case. Thanks for providing this number, and thanks to DVLA for their listening to me.

  14. Simon July 4, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    Try 03001230815 for the helpline

  15. p September 6, 2016 at 5:07 pm

    Call 03001230815 for the online application helpline and you’ll be put through straight away to a human :)

  16. barry September 7, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    Yes it works. Ring the number they give you an just press 6 about 5 times and you get through to a human in about 20 seconds and they are so helpful when you speak to them.

  17. Ethna Spindley September 22, 2016 at 11:58 am

    Ethna 22/09/2016. Great advice re hanging on without choosing any options when calling DVLA, it worked, I was quickly given the info I needed. Word of warning although everyone except me might know already. Don’t assume that by notifying DVLA of change of address for driving licence that they change vehicle ownership address as well, they don’t.

Leave a Reply

