newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Very Basic Introduction to VOIP

I was recently overseas and wanted a cheap way of making phone calls internationally while appearing as if I was still home. Now a mobile phone lets you do this because you retain your number no matter where you are in the world – but when you’re paying £1.50 per minute to make and receive calls it is time to look at other options.

Voice over IP is a service provided by many companies. One such company I signed up with was Voipfone but I’ve got friends that use PennyTel in Australia.

I pay a small fee, £2/month, to “hire” a local number in the town of my choice in the UK. Then I run a VoIP client on my mobile phone which logs into my SIP account in the UK and when I make or receive phone calls they are transmitted over the Internet to the UK where my Voipfone company then turns them into normal phone calls that go through the local phone provider.

Here is a rough diagram of the operation:

Calls go over the Internet to the SIP provider that then turns them into normal phone calls

Calls go over the Internet to the SIP provider that then turns them into normal phone calls

The advantage of a VoIP account is that you can have multiple phones registered on that SIP account. One could be at home. The other could be on your mobile phone (as a VoIP or SIP app). Then when somebody dials your ordinary phone number your VoIP provider then sends a ringing signal to all your logged in phones until one of you picks up.

Leave a Reply

