newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Making Apartment Windows Open Wider

Frustrated by windows that barely open at all? I was. In a perpetually hot apartment during the summertime I desperately wanted air to flow through in the evenings to cool the place down. But the furthest I could open my windows was this:

the widest my window would open

the widest my window would open

Today I discovered how to open the windows wider – without breaking anything!

The Solution

With the window opened as above – I looked on the right hand side of the frame – and saw this:

view of the right-hand-side of the window frame when slightly ajar

view of the right-hand-side of the window frame when slightly ajar

I pushed the black bracket upwards.

push the black bracket upwards

push the black hinge upwards

With the black hinge up it allowed the window to release and open wide.

the circled latch is freed from the black bracket and the window can swing open

the circled latch is freed from the black bracket and the window can swing open

Now the window is wide open as in the following photograph:

fully open window now

fully open window now

Next time you pull the window shut the black bracket will slide up and down to latch the window into the narrow-gap mode again.

One response to “Making Apartment Windows Open Wider

  1. tkmk June 10, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Haha! I couldn’t work out these windows until I read this article. Been boiling in my flat. A big thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

