Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Cyanogenmod 7.2 Crash in Messaging

I have been running Cyanogenmod 7.2 on my HTC Desire Z for the last few weeks.

Today I had a message that wouldn’t send (because I took an escalator deep underground going out of range of the mobile phone signal as I pressed the send button). Thereafter my Messaging application would keep crashing with the following message whenever I tried to send another SMS:

Sorry! The application Messaging (process has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. crash error message crash error message

I tried rebooting my phone, wiping the cache partition (from ClockworkMod Recovery), and going through the Settings->Applications->All->Messaging->Clear Data route – all to no avail.

I read somewhere that can crash when a single message becomes corrupted in the message database.

So I used the SMS Backup & Restore application to:

  • make a backup of my 5,000 messages (takes about 2 minutes)
  • delete all messages (takes about 5 minutes)
  • restore all messages (takes about 10 minutes)

The next time I started Messaging it displayed my threads (i.e. the names of contacts) and when I opened up the messages from the first contact the screen went blank for about another 5 minutes – (probably rebuilding the message database internally) – but afterwards I was able to see all my messages and successfully send a new SMS!

Leave a Reply

