Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Ganglion Almost Disappeared in Hours

I’m writing about this because I can’t believe it.

For the last 2-3 months I’ve had a fairly hard solid ball like growth under the skin on my right wrist. I’ve had these before – years and years ago in my late teenage years. They just went away.

I was worried that this one was sticking around because it’s been months and it hasn’t gone away.

But in the last two hours or so (between 3pm and 5:30pm) the hard ball has almost disappeared – not entirely – there’s still a bump, but it’s a lot softer now. I’m amazed because it was there this morning – I was running my hand over it feeling frustrated with it.

What have I done in the last few hours? Well – my car has developed a small leak – and after torrential rain over the past 24 hours there’s quite a bit of collected rainwater in the rear passenger footwell. I’ve been using my right hand (same as the wrist the ganglion was on) to press down with a sponge, then wring it out. I did this many times (maybe 50-100) because there was a lot of water there.

Could it be this action has allowed the fluid in the ganglion to free up? I don’t feel any pain (although I haven’t felt any pain the entire time I’ve had the ganglion).

I’m going to add some pictures of the motions I was using. The first was pushing down on the sponge – the awkward angle (pushing back on the wrist) was because I was pressing down from the back seat of the car into the footwell.

Angle Used When Pushing Down On Sponge

Angle Used When Pushing Down On Sponge

Then I would hold the sponge outside the car door and squeeze tightly to wring out the water.

Tightly Squeezing a Sponge

Tightly Squeezing a Sponge

If you have a ganglion then maybe it will go away on its own. There’s not much known about what makes them appear and disappear (from what I can find online). My UK doctor could give me little advice – given that it wasn’t hurting. I don’t know if the motions described above have been the reason my ganglion has turned from a hard ball to a much smaller soft mush in the last few hours. But I’ve documented it in case somebody else happens to notice something similar!

Update 2013-01-18

The ganglion came back a while later – I don’t remember how long it was – and it’s since become bigger and almost disappeared over the space of weeks. At the moment it is small but present. So I guess it was just one of those things it went away in a day as above. Maybe it is diet. Maybe it is sleep. Maybe it is something else. I really don’t know. But it won’t necessarily stay around forever.

One response to “Ganglion Almost Disappeared in Hours

  1. Miss V April 30, 2015 at 11:28 am

    Had the same thing! Did a load of digging in the garden after a year off and noticed the intense solidness of ganglion on under side of left wrist disappearing.. Also had some good news about my dad… Hope it stays away as was pretty big and ugly and was fairly noticeable.. Meant wearing jewellery etc a bit tricky as drew attention to it..
    I was getting pretty fed up and considering revisiting the doc..
    Although the Leon of having it pre emergence and the likelihood of a return or others put me off so honestly was reckoning was going to have to live with it. Put it down to age.
    I am 47.
    There is an indication that Phosphorus homeopathic remedy can help.. Was considering it as the description matched my picture..
    Good luck to other readers..

Leave a Reply

