newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

The Carphone Warehouse Is Spamming Personal Mobiles With SMS Messages

I have never been a customer of The Carphone Warehouse.

Years ago, now, I started receiving spam advertising messages from The Carphone Warehouse to my personal mobile (in the UK). These stopped.

Spamming a New Number

On 2012-05-29 12:46 (British Summer Time, or GMT+0100) I received the following SMS on a T-Mobile 30-day rolling contract mobile number:

Your Carphone Warehouse store at The Windmills, Smethwick, Birmingham, B66 3EN will be closed from 30th May for an upgrade. Reopening mid-June, it will have a new look and a wider range of products and services. To stop msgs txt STOP to 80091

(apparently sent from number Carphone).

Why This Is So Wrong

I’ve never been a customer of The Carphone Warehouse. I’ve not stepped foot in a Carphone Warehouse store since around 2006. I took out this mobile phone number in 2010 in a T-Mobile store in London. I’ve only visited Birmingham twice – a few years ago – and just for day trips.

What Can We Do?

If I complain to the advertising standards authority they will ask for my phone number. This defeats the purpose – if I hand my number to The Carphone Warehouse then they know about me! But the whole point of this unsolicited spam is that they know nothing about me – and yet are still spamming!

My personal opinion is that UK residents should keep out of Carphone Warehouse stores. I see no reason to walk in. If you want a phone you can buy it from Amazon. If you want a SIM card you can walk into any one of tens of mobile company retail stores in your area. I personally think you should not give Carphone Warehouse your patronage. I personally think they are a firm engaging in grossly unethical practices.

Update 2012-06-14

It’s happened again – at 12:07pm today! Here is the text:

Your Carphone Warehouse store at The Windmills, Smethwick, B66 3EN has now reopened! Visit us today and check out our new look, wider range of products and experience even better service. To stop msgs txt STOP to 80091

I would like an apology from a director of Carphone Warehouse along with a personal mobile number I can call at 3am in the morning on a regular basis. Anybody have that information?

Leave a Reply

