newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Getting NVidia 9600 GT Working With Ivy Bridge i5

I have been running a Windows 7 64-bit system on an Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7400 for some years. I decided it was time to upgrade.

I bought an Intel Core i5 3570K (Ivy Bridge) with an ASUSTeK P8H77-V LE motherboard and 16GB (4x4GB DIMMS) Corsair 1600 DDR3 RAM.

It took about an hour to rip out the old motherboard and put the new one in and re-assemble everything. Powered on successfully.

But had some problems. Mainly I couldn’t get the NVidia 9600 GT graphics card (which was slotted into the PCI-E slot nearest the CPU on the motherboard) recognised by Microsoft Windows.

First I installed the ASUSTeK motherboard drivers off the supplied DVD.

Then I had the VGA display driver installed.

But then the keyboard wouldn’t work after boot. Windows would just sit there at the log-in screen permitting mouse movement but no keyboard entry. Rebooting into Windows Safe Mode (press F8 during boot) made the keyboard work again – and I uninstalled the HD Graphics 4000 (integrated i5 chip graphics) driver.

So when I went into Device Manager (start -> right click on Computer -> left click on Manage -> select Device Manager) I would see the following:

Device Manager Before NVidia Installation

Device Manager Before NVidia Installation

Now – I was scratching my head – why couldn’t Windows 7 see my NVidia card? I started up a tool called “CPU-Z” and that detected the presence of 2 video cards – one of which being an unidentified NVidia card. I had hope.

I went onto the website http://www.geforce.com/drivers. I then clicked on “auto-detect your GPU”:

GeForce Website Auto Detect Page

GeForce Website Auto Detect Page

The website asked me if I wanted to run some software – I accepted – and got the following webpage:

GeForce Website Card Detected Page

GeForce Website Card Detected Page

My card was successfully detected in my system! I went ahead and downloaded the suggested driver and ran it.

After rebooting my second display (I had it in dual display mode prior to the motherboard upgrade) came alive – with everything the same (including wide wallpaper) as prior to the upgrade.

Here is what my Device Manager window looks like now:

Device Manager After NVidia Driver Installation

Device Manager After NVidia Driver Installation

As you can see the NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT card is present and installed.

Leave a Reply

