newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Will The AveoTSD Stop My Snoring?

Well it turns out I snore. A lot. I bought an Olympus LS-5 audio recorder and recorded all 8 hours of myself sleeping over a few nights – and for at least 50% of the time I am snoring heavily.

My father, who has always snored loudly and heavily, recommended the AveoTSD – an invention from New Zealand that is now being distributed in many countries around the world. In the United Kingdom it is distributed by Aveo Sleep. I ordered one in the UK (and the price is almost double of ordering it in New Zealand given current exchange rates).

I haven’t tried it yet but do feel excited about the possibility of a proper night’s sleep. The manual does point out it will be uncomfortable for the first 3-5 days.

Here are some photos of the package just after it arrived.

AveoTSD Package Front Side

AveoTSD Package Front Side

AveoTSD Package View From Top

AveoTSD Package View From Top

AveoTSD Package View From Underside

AveoTSD Package View From Underside

AveoTSD Package View From Other Side

AveoTSD Package View From Other Side

After opening the package I placed the device inside the translucent container.

AveoTSD Container Front View

AveoTSD Container Front View

AveoTSD Container Top View

AveoTSD Container Top View

Stay tuned – hope to have a report on how it is going. My one concern is that I have a tendency to grind my teeth. So we are about to find out if I bite my tongue off!

Update 2012-05-29

I’ve had this device for 4 months now. So far I’ve only ever worn it for 1-2 hours at a time before taking it out and falling asleep. If I entered a deep sleep and was awoken just long enough to put it in maybe I could fall back into a deep sleep with it – however I am a relatively light sleeper (anyway) and so far I haven’t been able to go a whole night with it in. It’s not particularly uncomfortable and I haven’t bitten my tongue off – and I feel like my airway is clearer with it in (particularly when sleeping on my back).

So – so far – results are inconclusive!

Leave a Reply

