Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

OpenWRT on Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH 10.03.1-rc6

After reading this post from some time back I purchased two Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH routers from Amazon. I paid £74.25 for both on 28 October 2010.

I decided to install OpenWRT as the operating system on the router. I had some initial teething problems with wireless LAN dropping out regularly but that has significantly improved with recent releases of the firmware.

Initial installation was not simple but the instructions are relatively straightforward and have been documented specifically for the WZR-HP-G300NH.

My home network appears as follows:

Home Network

Home Network

As you can see I am using the router in client mode. Normally one would have the router in base-station mode. I do this so that I can transfer files between my PCs at high (1Gbps Ethernet) speed over the Buffalo’s built-in switch while having access to the Internet in a different room.

I really love the latest firmware. Actually release candidate 5 (the firmware before the current one) introduced real-time monitoring of traffic and connections into the administration web interface; and this release continues that great support.

Upgrade Steps

I downloaded the firmware from

Then I navigated to the System tab -> Flash Firmware page and uploaded the image. I had to wait roughly 3-5 minutes and there was no progress indication during the upgrade. Be patient. Eventually a red LED on the router will light and the router will reboot. It does take a while.

Leave a Reply

