newspaint

Documenting Problems That Were Difficult To Find The Answer To

Replacing HDD With SSD In Asus N10Jc Laptop

I decided to replace the 120GB hard drive in my Asus N10J series laptop (N10Jc) with a 96GB Kingston SSD (available at eBuyer.com). The Kingston SSD drive actually weighs more than the original spinning hard disk drive.

I’d previously replaced the RAM chip (the laptop came with 1GB of RAM) with a 2GB one soon after I’d bought the laptop so I already knew I could open the back of the laptop with ease.

I started by turning the laptop upside down, and removing the battery. Located the 3 screws on the inner panel and loosened them (but they don’t come right out). Then used a flat head screwdriver to lever the panel out.

Loosen the three screws, then lever panel off using a flat screwdriver

Loosen the three screws, then lever panel off using a flat screwdriver

Next undid and removed the 2 screws holding the drive bay down.

Undo and remove the 2 screws holding the drive bay down

Undo and remove the 2 screws holding the drive bay down

I gently lifted up the drive bay a little using a finger around the handle. But it was important not to pull two hard or the SATA connection at the end of the drive might have been broken!

Gently lift the drive bay with your finger, but not too hard

Gently lift the drive bay with your finger, but not too hard

While gently lifting the drive bay I pulled out the raised end sideways.

Pull the drive bay out while one end is slightly raised

Pull the drive bay out while one end is slightly raised

The drive was now free (but attached to the drive bay). I had to unscrew the drive from the drive bay.

Remove the four screws from the drive bay to release the drive

Remove the four screws from the drive bay to release the drive

Then I put the Kingston SSD into the drive bay, inserted and tightened the four screws.

Next I slide the drive bay back into the laptop, and inserted the two screws to keep the drive bay in place.

Finally I pushed the back panel back on – pushing down until the plastic clasps snapped into place, and tightened the three screws keeping it down.

All done!

Update 2011-10-27

I’ve had the SSD in the laptop for 2 months now. I don’t believe the laptop runs any faster than it did (although I’m running Ubuntu on it, not Windows, perhaps Windows does run faster). I believe this is because the processor in this laptop is relatively slow – so the bottle neck is mostly in the processor, not I/O. However I’ve done no detailed analysis so perhaps somebody else out there can shine some more accurate light on the performance differences using a SSD in this laptop.

I’ve put SSDs into other laptops and found them to be much, much quicker. These other laptops were all running Windows; I’ve had no experience in replacing a spinning disk with a SSD on any other Unix/Linux based systems.

Leave a Reply

